New Morning Ritual: Oil Pulling

photo (2)-001

I’ve been working from home this whole week due to some minor but inconvenient medical situation. With all that time on my hands, I’ve finally gotten around to trying oil pulling. I first read about it in Indigo Baby’s website (my go-to shop when I have to buy gifts for baby showers). They were selling a product called Gargoyle Oil Pulling Tonic and while I didn’t end up buying that particular brand, I did pick this other one when I stopped over at Sesou Nature Source for my argan oil shampoo. It’s been stuck in my bathroom cabinet until I read about FabAfterForty giving oil pulling a try. My gums have been feeling sensitive of late too so I thought it was high time to give it a go.

Oil pulling is an ancient Ayurvedic remedy for oral health and detoxification. It involves the use of pure oils as agents for pulling harmful bacteria, fungus and other organisms out of the mouth, teeth, gums and even throat.

How It’s Done:
1. Take one tablespoon of the cold pressed virgin coconut oil (or sesame oil or any high quality organic oil) into the mouth while stomach is empty.
2. Slowly swish the oil around the mouth. This should be done for 15-20 minutes so it’s best to do something else while oil pulling to help pass the time.
3. Apparently, the oils mix with the saliva, turning it into a thin, white liquid. This is where the magic happens as the lipids in the oils begin to pull out toxins from the saliva of the mouth. After a while, that one tablespoon of oil starts to feel like a whole mouthful and the texture becomes more like water than oil. Careful not to swallow the oil!!
4. After 20 minutes, spit out the oil. Apparently, this has become so toxic, it’s best to spit into your trash or a bag instead of the sink. You also don’t want to clog your drains either especially if you use coconut oil which has a tendency to solidify when cold. Not likely to happen in our tropical weather, but best to be safe!
5. I usually wash my mouth with salted water to make sure I remove all the oil in my mouth but some find this unnecessary.

My gums have been thanking me ever since I oil pulled! My lips feel a lot more moisturized too. Some of the reading available online make oil pulling like some magic cure-all. I doubt it is, but what it can do for my oral health is enough to convince me to keep this up!

