Baguio Weekend Getaway

Strawberry Picking at La Trinidad
Strawberry Picking at La Trinidad

Like half of Manila, we trekked up to Baguio for the long weekend with childhood school friends. Who decided to make it Chinese New Year, Pinagbengan Festival Kick off and Hot Air Balloon all in one weekend!?!

It was the longest time I was away from our kitchen to cook my Cohen meals. I brought our entire kitchen (practically! haha) and thanks to my supportive friends, I was able to keep to my strict meal plan even though our adventure was one gigantic food trip. Three cheers!!!

Over 20 Years of Friendships Right Here!

Breakfast at Cafe by the Ruins
Breakfast at Cafe by the Ruins
Dinner at Chef's Home
Dinner at Chef’s Home
Hanging out at PNKY Cafe
Hanging out at PNKY Cafe

While I was intent on making sure I kept to my eating plan, Drew was determined to introduce the gang to our new favorite board game, Settlers of Catan. OMG. That game. Obsessing. Somehow, despite our seemingly jam packed schedule, we managed to play two rounds! Those who play Settlers know how much time that took!

Photo by Patty Filart
Photo by Patty Filart

Aside from finally being able to pick strawberries in La Trinidad (a childhood dream ever since I heard the Von Trapp kids talk about it), the highlight of our trip was probably dining at Chef Vicky Tinio’s Mama’s Table. Well, alright, their dinner. I asked they just serve me a platter of raw vegetables!!! So definitely it wasn’t great because of the food for me. Chef Vicky was scolding me that I should have just said I was on Cohen since she was familiar with the meal plan and she could have whipped something up for me. But, anyway, the ambiance, the conversation, Chef Vicky’s passion for food, the smell and sight of what was served — quite enough to convince me to trek up back to Baguio after my Cohen to actually taste her food!!

Mama's Table is at the Tinio family's private Baguio residence
Mama’s Table is at the Tinio family’s private Baguio residence
