Cooking for ze huzband!

One of the major adjustments I’ve had to do after getting married, is getting used to the idea that I now have to cook for my family. Remember when I became so stressed about trying a few Jamie Oliver recipes?

Well, my stress level has gone down significantly and thru our first year, I’ve managed to cook most of the Filipino classic recipes with success: adobo, sinigang, nilagang baka, sinangag with tocino, chopseuy. I’ve also tried out a few Japanese, Italian and Chinese recipes. All that time I spent playing kitchen with mom actually subconsciously gave me some useful skillz around ze kitchen. Of course, I’m not at the level of my mother-in-law who has the patience to do this, without using a food processor:

My mother-in-law's grilled fish
My mother-in-law’s steamed fish

But baby steps, right? Here are some of my efforts!

Spinach Fritatta & Lasangna
Spinach Fritatta & Lasangna
Seafood Clamchowder, Grilled Squash and salad from Cafe by the Ruins that I copied several times at home
Seafood Clamchowder, Grilled Squash with Cinnamon and salad from Cafe by the Ruins that I copied several times at home

I don’t really get to take much photos of what I cook, but if I had this as my kitchen, I would probably take a whole lot more! hahaha

None of those stainless steel kitchens! Warm stone is just lovely!!
None of those stainless steel kitchs. Warm stone is just lovely!!

I’m still working on broadening my culinary skills. I’m so thankful to all the cooks out there who share their recipes and tricks and tips! Here are some of my favorite go-to websites:

justone

realsimple

market

Allrecipes logo

