T-minus 3 Days

I’m still in denial. My dear dear friend, Dee, is following God’s call to move to Africa with her husband. She invited me to attend their “graduation” from missions training but even though I saw with my own eyes the blessings placed on them to leave, I’m still in denial. But here they are, flying out in three days, carrying only 80 kgs worth of all their worldly possessions and our hearts and prayers with them.

P1110137

At the culminating activity of their missions training in May 2012
At the culminating activity of their missions training in May 2012

I’ve been blessed with this circle of friends bonded in school when we were children. We literally grew up with each other: bratty faces with braces in third grade to all happily married in our early thirties. It’s hard to find friendships like that these days — the deep tested kind that are full of love and acceptance. Life happened in between and we shared our journeys throughout the years, making our bonds ever stronger. But soon, part of Dee and Noel’s journey can only be shared via messages on FB, skype and whatever other gadgets the modern world will now afford our long distance relationship. I’m not afraid about the journey Dee and Noel will be embarking. I know God will take care of them. I just feel selfish because I’m going to be missing Dee’s boisterous laugh and Noel’s grounding encouragements when the barkada is all together. I know we’re all going to feel their absence. I’m going to be missing them both so much I keep tearing up every time I think about Monday.

Dee & Noel at our wedding
Dee & Noel at our wedding
