Postcard Series #13: Singapore

I have very fond memories of Singapore, having first met her when I went to attend the Harvard Project for Asian and International Relations conference when I was in college. Those were really good times. There was a different flavor to traveling as a student with other students. But with our days stuck inside the halls of Suntec and our nights mingling with foreign delegates from all over the world, we weren’t really concerned with getting to know Singapore too much and spent most of our time instead just at Clarke Quay.

Last weekend, I got reacquainted with the city and discovered the newer bits too. My cousin who had lived there for two months just a year ago kept saying how many new things have cropped up in the island in such a short span of time. For a tiny island, it really had a lot going on. I absolutely envy its mass transport system (like I do most every other country’s mass transit system). Imagine if every single island of the Philippines was as developed as Singapore. Oh, the possibilities!!

Orchard Road and the amazing architecture at Marina Bay

I definitely want to go back again and spend a bit more time really discovering the small island and its amazing gastronomical wonders, but with more pressing work occupying our time, I was happy to just get to be a bit of a kid and hang out at Universals for an afternoon, too.

Universals at Sentosa Island
Oh, Charlie Chaplin, I'm a fan even of your counterfeits

I wanna head back to you, Singapore! I want to spend hours at your ArtScience Museum, National Museum, eat eat eat eat and eat at your hawkers market then faint at the sight of your many scrumptious dessert shops. But maybe after Taiwan, Cambodia and Korea?! So many more miles to go!!

