try a different kind of theater?

I grew up watching theater. I was so into it, I even thought I wanted to be a director. I joined a Repertory Philippines summer workshop when I was 11, only to find out that it was for actors and not for directors. To this day, I want to kick myself for not telling Baby Barredo that I wanted to learn how to direct instead of joining this pool of young actors when she asked us why we joined the workshop. Hayay, what could’ve been!

One of the biggest wonders I have is how the Philippines is such a hotbed for these talented actors and directors but there is such little market for the local theater scene. I felt so burdened that I used to drag anyone and everyone I could to watch the local shows with me. It was actually not that hard to convince people (maybe because the tickets were free haha) but I have a suspicion that more Filipinos will watch the shows if they 1. Knew about it, 2. Tickets are as easy to buy as movies, 3. Someone actually watched with them. So, cue in Neil Patrick Harris’ opening song in this year’s Tony Awards!

Host Neil Patrick Harris performs during the 65th annual Tony Awards, Sunday, June 12, 2011 in New York. (AP Photo/Jeff Christensen)

On a personal note, I’ve just seen Suessical and In the Heights and we’re planning on catching The Sound of Music and Mama Mia! But for other shows happening all over the metro, your best bet would be to check out Ticket World to find out the prices and dates. Let’s support the local scene first and then push for awesome original material to make our stages as world famous as Broadway and West End!

Seussical is running until December 2011 at Greenbelt 1
In the Heights runs until September 18, 2011 at RCBC Plaza
Manila production kicks off in January 2012
Kicks off next month, October 15 at Newport Theater
