Once in a while, we kick it with style

Last night, Andrew and I celebrated our first anniversary as a couple at Lolo Dad’s. I first heard about them from their wickedly named salad “For the Rich” served at their cafe in 6750 that was priced indeed for the rich.

Lolo Dad's, Manila

The original Lolo Dad’s restaurant in Manila is discreet from the outside. Whenever we’d pass by it, Andrew would always think it closed down already. But last night, the lights were on and the place was busy. We entered into a nice little garden that led up to the main door that opened up to a dining room with full view of the kitchen.

Kitchen in full view

Reeling from my obsession with Gordon Ramsey’s show, I had to stop myself from dragging my chair, prop my elbows by the windows and watch our local cooks do their thing. I was just rather disappointed to see that all of the chefs were thin. Someone once told me to never trust a thin chef. hahaha But everything we ordered was absolutely worth every bit of our few pennies.

It’s nice to be occasionally fancy to celebrate special milestones in your life. It’s a real blessing from God to have a man who makes every effort to put a smile on your face.

Appetizer: Seared Foie gras with Asian Pear confit Micro salad on Duck liver Chaud Froid
Mains: Seabass and Halibut with prawns
Desserts: Mango terrine with mascarpone cheese; Dark chocolate and Almond layered cake

And this is my prayer: that your love may abound more and more in knowledge and depth of insight, so that you may be able to discern what is best and may be pure and blameless for the day of Christ, filled with the fruit of righteousness that comes through Jesus Christ—to the glory and praise of God.
– Philippians 1:9-11

