healthy living, we go!

I’ve been trying to get my act together health-wise since the start of year. I was a devoted gym rat for three years, had a regular 4-days-a-week routine (I’d even go for 5 when I had nothing else to do and was on an especially crazy mood). And then I got sick and needed an operation. That got me kinda pissed. I felt like my body was a traitor. Traiiitoooor! Hmp.

So, I’ve been uninspired to go back to my healthy ways. I’ve probably worked out for a total of 10 times since I was given the go and it’s been a very very sluggish progress to get myself motivated again.

In the attempt to jumpstart things though, I got a hold of a couple of juice bottles that promised to cleanse away the toxins in my body.

Only these 6 bottles for food for one whole day

It felt great and the buzz lasted for about a week. If you’re interested to learn more, check out http://www.jujucleanse.com

We’re also starting to try out healthier restaurants and we started off with what everyone is saying is one of the best vegetarian restaurants in Makat, The Corner Tree Cafe.

Aptly named because it's literally at the corner, by the tree in Jupiter Street

Their appetizer looked yummy and was an awesome idea because we were already hungry when we arrived at the restaurant and we weren’t sure about how long the service would take.

Corner Tree Starter Plate P190.00

The starter plate is a combination of Dukka and White Bean Hummus. Dukka is an Egyptian blend of seeds, spices and nuts that is served with extra virgin olive oil and chunks of bread. White Bean Hummus is the white bean dip eaten with vegetable sticks. Of course, because we were hungry, we didn’t really bother looking this up and just experimented on what seemed to taste better with what. Eventually we figured out the right combination.

I got a tip from a friend that their burgers are really good, but when I looked at the menu, the first thing that caught my eye was the Kare-Kareng Gulay. I was sold. Kare-kare is actually the first dish I ever learned to cook, but I never got the hang of eating the tuwalya and had substituted it with seafood even at the very beginning.

Kare-Kareng Gulay P175.00

I was actually taken aback by the size of the dish. This can really be shared by two people. Corner Tree Cafe makes their Kare-kare interesting by serving it with vegetable bagoong. It had the right saltiness you want from a bagoong but it had a different texture, of course. It was delish.

We also tried their Arroz ala Cubana which is an interesting blend of minced tofu, tomatoes, green olives, and raisins.

Arroz a la Cubana P195

We absolutely loved the vibe of Corner Tree Cafe. It felt homey and cozy and their food was really yummy. It can definitely inspire to continue this journey to live well.

