My Bit of Earth

There’s nothing like traveling the world that makes you want to claim your own bit of earth. I’ve felt this since I came home from visiting the US for the first time when I was 9. The more I travel abroad, the more I want to discover my own land. It’s a funny correlation, but one that I’m sure many who travel can understand. My love for my bit of earth was encouraged by my Dad. My summer after my 5th grade, he took us family all over the country every weekend. No kidding. We went to Cebu, Boracay which was still a paradise and undiscovered back then, Subic, Fortune Island and twice to a private little island named Balesin. All in one summer. There was a DOT mantra back then that I think he took to heart: “wag maging dayuhan sa sariling bayan” hahaha

I always itch to show my bit of earth to my friends abroad, Filipinos or not. I always itch for people to discover there are many good things to say about our islands. I don’t discount the many bad, but nobody’s pretending it isn’t a third world country. I’m just saying there is good here.

They still do traditional Filipino dances every night at Barbara's, Intramuros
Our Spanish heritage and life in Ilocos Norte, North Luzon
Chinese food that's become part of our daily fare. Binondo food trip!
One of the seven lakes in Quezon, Lake Pandin in South Luzon
Zipline and water rafting in Cagayan de Oro, Mindanao
